Biden Presidency: Bad For Oil And Gas?

Oklahoma Election Results

Oklahoma’s record-breaking 69.25% voter turnout paved the way for Republicans to gain House seats, keep the Senate stable, and beat a Congressional incumbent.

Republicans picked up five seats in the House of Representatives, pushing their supermajority in the chamber to 82R-19D. Three incumbent Democrats (Reps. Albright, Branham, and Meredith) lost their races, while Republicans also picked up two open seats vacated by Democrats.

In the Senate, incumbent Democratic Sen. Allison Ikley-Freeman was defeated by Republican challenger Cody Rogers. In SD-35, previously Republican-held but vacant due to term limits, Democratic Candidate Jo Anna Dossett was able to claim victory. The Senate will remain a Republican supermajority at 38R-9D-1 Vacant.

State Senator Stephanie Bice narrowly defeated incumbent Congresswoman Kendra Horn to win Oklahoma’s CD-5. Bice’s State Senate seat will be filled via a special election. Oklahoma’s four other Congressional seats stayed Republican and U.S. Reps. Hern, Mullin, Lucas, and Cole will retain their seats. U.S. Senator Jim Inhoffe also won his race and the entire OK federal delegation has returned to all-Republican.

In the only statewide race on the ballot, Republican Corporation Commissioner Todd Hiett handily beat a Libertarian challenger to his office.

Additionally, the two state questions on the ballot, SQ805 and SQ814, were both soundly defeated. SQ805 would have removed judges’ ability to use sentence enhancements for repeat offenders of nonviolent crimes. SQ814 would have changed the funding ratio for the state’s Tobacco Settlement Endowment and Trust (TSET) to allow the legislature to appropriate 75% of profits. Both SQs were defeated at a nearly 60%-40% margin.

The 58th Session of the Oklahoma Legislature will convene at noon on February 1st.